If One More person says that A.J. looks “SCARY” or “MENACING” as Maleficent, I think I might scream.

It always barffles me (yes… barf -fles) when people get so wrapped up in an upcoming movie because of the IDEA of the movie that they don’t SERIOUSLY look at the reality… 

I was a-scrollin on the tumblr and I came across this – (and the moment where she smiles afterwards)
Image

With this scrawled out underneath it – 
“Angelina Jolie worked very closely with the costume and make-up designers to develop Maleficent’s menacing look. Disney executives objected, hoping to take advantage of Jolie’s beauty in marketing the film, but the actress insisted that the character maintain the scarier look of the animated incarnation.”

Maybe it’s because this particular disney character is very dear to my heart…but the moment that I heard that Jolie was going to play her, all that came to my mind was “REALLY!?? REEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEALLLY??!?!” 

In response to the above
I reblogged stating this – 

Hol’ up… let me just stop you right there… I have never ONCE during the commercials, during these gifs, during much of ANYTHING been “afraid” of her. I honestly thought that this was a joke. 

She looks too beautiful. That smile in the last gif? She almost looks normal. She looks like a model “IN” a tacky Maleficent costume to me. And those red lips? And that flawless white skin? O_o 

Frankly, I’m not at all buying it. I think it’s pretty clear that ACTUALLY Jolie wanted to be “beautiful” through the “make up” not scary or ugly. It’s like the scary/ ugly was an after thought.

If they had given this role to me, I would have absolutely pushed for them to make me ugly/ unrecognizable with a HINT of beauty as an afterthought… and forget the freaking RED LIPS… I know the disney character had them, but it just looks too… pretty here.

I hate to rant but I just get so tired of everyone saying that she looks “Scary”… really?!? REALLLLY?!?!? Scary… so if this showed up at your door, you’d be TERRIFIED, not curious? Not enchanted? Not a little bit confused as to why a gorgeous woman was wearing huge horns??

Something else? I have not once seen a commercial where she has “scared” me either. I don’t think she’s the most amazing actress, but I thought MAYBE she could do this… So far? Nope. Not even a blip of  “Oh, that was a little frightening” … just a gothic-y queen with a deep sexy voice. 

I honestly think this might be terrible over all. The make up, the acting, everything. 

Believe it or not, I can’t WAIT to be proven wrong… but so far? Nope… not buying it at all. 

I know… total “unpopular opinion” time. 

Blech… *done* 

Leave a Reply

